Division news

The following is a listing of recent accomplishments and activities by students, alumni, and faculty of the UNT composition program. Items are listed in reverse chronological order and may be filtered using the menus below:
Sat, Aug 17 2013 |

This year's International Computer Music Conference, which takes place in Perth, Australia on 11-17 August 2013, will include works by four UNT-affiliated composers: doctoral composer Mark Oliveiro (Sikinnis), alumni Yu-Chung Tseng (Fantasy) and Jing Wang (Brahmanda), and Bourges residency composer Diana Salazar (Capsicum Fever)

Wed, Aug 14 2013 |

Doctoral Student Mark Oliveiro has been awarded the 2013 International Computer Music Association's Prize in the Student category, for his composition Sikinnis, for soprano saxophone and live electronics.

Thu, Apr 18 2013 |

Eleven UNT-affiliated composers were selected to participate in the SEAMUS 2013 Conference at McNally Smith College in St. Paul, MN, 18-20 April 2013: faculty composers Panayiotis Kokoras and Jon Christopher Nelson; doctoral composer Mark Oliveiro; alumni composers Jon Anderson, Greg Dixon, Eli Fieldsteel, Dave Gedosh, Elainie Lillios, and L. Scott Price; and former faculty composer Butch Rovan. Also participating in the conference was faculty flutist Elizabeth McNutt.

Sun, Oct 07 2012 |

Cornered, a work for computer music and dance with motion tracking using the Xbox Kinect controller by doctoral composer Jason Fick, was recently accepted into the Houston Fringe Festival (14-15 September 2012) and Soundcrawl in Nashville, TN (7 October 2012). Additionally, a staff writer at Microsoft has written an article on the work for the 8 June 2012 edition of their internal company newsletter, Company View.

Tue, Jan 10 2012 |

Tartarian Psalm II: Metrical Charm, a composition for bass trombone by doctoral composer Mark Oliveiro, has won first prize in category I of the British Trombone Society’s Composition Competition 2012. The work will be performed in Manchester UK in May 2012 and published by Warwick Music.

Sun, Jan 01 2012 |

Doctoral composer Mark Oliveiro's composition for Soprano and Piano, Il Garrot, was awarded an Honorable Mention Citation in the International Music Prize for Excellence in Composition 2011, sponsored by the National Academy of Music.

Sun, Jan 01 2012 |

After receiving an American Composers Forum Encore Grant (2011) to compose a new work for the new music ensemble Pictures on Silence, doctoral composer Mark Oliveiro’s composition Tanox has been made the subject of a short promotional video documentary, released early this year by the American University (Washington DC).