Division news

The following is a listing of recent accomplishments and activities by students, alumni, and faculty of the UNT composition program. Items are listed in reverse chronological order and may be filtered using the menus below:
Sun, Feb 28 2010 |

David Bithell will be in residency at Connecticut College for the premiere of Paraquay, part of The Liminal Surface (a collaboration with Ali Momeni), a work commissioned by the Ammerman Center for Arts and Technology for the 12th Annual Symposium on Arts and Technology (28 February - 6 March 2010).

Thu, Dec 03 2009 |

Joseph Klein was invited to the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music as the featured alumnus composer for the December 2009 program of the IU New Music Ensemble, where his work Occam's Razor was conducted by David Dzubay. During his week-long residency, Klein presented a lecture for students and faculty, taught composition master classes, and worked with the NME in rehearsals of his composition.

Tue, Dec 01 2009 |

In 2009, Cindy McTee received about 60 performances of her music by ensembles including the Nashville Symphony, and the Symphony Orchestras of Detroit and Springfield, OH. Her music was also presented by Voices of Change in Dallas, Cutting Edge Concerts' New Music Festival 2009 in New York City, and the United States Navy Band’s International Saxophone Symposium. Also of significance was a BBC Radio 3 broadcast of her Timepiece with the BBC Symphony Orchestra.

Wed, Nov 25 2009 |

Elizabeth McNutt was a guest artist at the University of Aberdeen (Scotland) in November 2009. In addition to giving a masterclass and participating in a panel discussion, she also performed a recital on the sound festival of new music during her residency.

Sun, Nov 15 2009 |

Jon Christopher Nelson recently served as the featured guest composer at the Lipa Festival of Contemporary Music at Iowa State University (Aames, IA) where he provided lectures and presented four of his electroacoustic works in concert.

Sun, Nov 15 2009 |

Andrew May's Ripped-Up Maps was released on the CD Uncoiled Oscillations (2009), featuring double bassist Jeremy Baguyos.

Tue, Sep 01 2009 |

In the fall of 2009, Cindy McTee received one of two inaugural fellowships sponsored by UNT’s Institute for the Advancement of the Arts. She also completed one new work entitled The Unquestioned Answer for orchestra and was commissioned to write a wind version of her work Double Play.

Thu, Aug 20 2009 |

Works by several UNT composers were selected for performance at the International Computer Music Conference (ICMC) in Montreal, Québec on 16-21 August 2009. Among those represented were student composer Greg Dixon (Water Home to Water); faculty composer Andrew May (Still Angry, performed by UNT faculty flutist Elizabeth McNutt); alumni composers Tseng Yu-Chung (FMM) and Kevin Patton (Digital Poplar Consort); and past CEMI resident composers Diana Simpson (Papyrus) and Juan Parra-Cancino (GeoAves).

Sat, Aug 01 2009 |

In 2009, Andrew May's Still Angry, part of "The Tornado Project" with faculty flutist Elizabeth McNutt and clarinetist Esther Lamneck, was performed in Aberdeen, Scotland; Montreal, Canada; and Belfast, Northern Ireland, as well at the SEAMUS National Conference in Fort Wayne, Indiana. The work is also scheduled for performance at the New York City Electroacoustic Music Festival in 2010.

Mon, Jun 01 2009 |

Jon Christopher Nelson recently completed Turbulent Blue, a new work for stereo computer music commissioned by the Institut International de Musique Electroacoustique de Bourges (IMEB) and composed in residence in their studios in Bourges, France. His work objet sonore/objet cinétique was selected for inclusion on the forthcoming Music from SEAMUS 2009 compact disc recording.

Mon, Jun 01 2009 |

In 2009, Cindy McTee was guest composer at Central Michigan University’s New Music Symposium, BMI Composer-in-Residence at Vanderbilt University, keynote speaker for the 2009 NACUSA Texas Conference at Stephen F. Austin State University, guest composer for the Society of Composers, Inc. Region VI Conference at Oklahoma City University, and guest lecturer at Wayne State University in Detroit.

Sun, Feb 15 2009 |

Cindy McTee was awarded the Detroit Symphony Orchestra's Elaine Lebenbom Memorial Award for Female Composers, given annually to one living woman composer. As the winner, McTee will receive a $10,000 cash award and compose an original orchestral work to be performed by the Detroit Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Leonard Slatkin in June 2010.

Tue, Apr 15 2008 |

Works by the following UNT composers were presented at the 2008 conference of the Society for Electroacoustic Music in the United States (SEAMUS) at the University of Utah (April 2008): Nick Bober and Stephen Lucas (Shattered Images), Camilo Salazar and alumna Jessica Leza (Vejez naciente, Naciente vejez), faculty member Jon Christopher Nelson (Just After the Rain), alumni Mikel Kuehn and Elainie Lillios, and former faculty members Butch Rovan and Larry Austin.

Sat, Sep 01 2007 |

Works by the following UNT composers were presented at the 2007 International Computer Music Conference (ICMC) in Copenhaguen, Denmark (August 2007): Camilo Salazar (Siluetas), alumnus Kazuaki Shiota (Internal Rhythms), and faculty member Andrew May (Ripped Up Maps). Papers were also presented by alumnus John Chow Seymour (“Computer-Assisted Composition in Equal Tunings”), composition student Adam Lockhart (“Cognitive Implications of Musical Perception”), and alumnus Jeffrey Morris (“Feedback Instruments: Generating Musical Sounds, Gestures, and Textures in Real Time with Complex Feedback Systems").