Division news

The following is a listing of recent accomplishments and activities by students, alumni, and faculty of the UNT composition program. Items are listed in reverse chronological order and may be filtered using the menus below:
Sun, May 03 2009 |

String Quartet No.1 (A Vision of Delusion) by undergraduate composer Kohsuke Tajima was selected for performance in the 2009 North Texas Young Composers Project by Voices of Change at Caruth Auditorium (Southern Methodist University) on 3 May 2009.

Fri, May 01 2009 |

Graduate composer Ilya Y. Rostovtsev's sound design for an animated short How the Rain is Made, a recent collaboration with Gayane Bagdasaryan, was premiered at the Rochester Institute of Technology School of Film and Animation, New York, in May of 2009.

Fri, May 01 2009 |

Doctoral composition student Hsiao-Lan Wang's work Tale of an Unborn Child for flute and piano has been selected for performance at the 10th Feminist Theory and Music Symposium at University of North Carolina, Greensboro, in May 2009.

Wed, Mar 11 2009 |

Fanfare No. 1 (2009) for trumpet, trombone, and piano by doctoral composer Da Jeong Choi was premiered by Brian Walker (trumpet), Jon Gill (trombone), and Willem Van Schalkwyk (piano) at the University of Southern Mississippi, (Hattiesburg, MS), and subsequently performed at Florida State University (Tallahassee, FL), First Alliance Church (Atlanta, GA), and Berry College (Mount Berry, GA), 11-17 March 2009.

Wed, Mar 11 2009 |

Doctoral composition student Hsiao-Lan Wang's collaborative video work Made in... with French 3D animation artist is featured on the Athena Festival at Murray State University in Kentucky on 11 March 2009.

Thu, Feb 26 2009 |

Different but One Body (2003) for percussion ensemble by doctoral composer Da Jeong Choi was performed by David Steffens (director), Dorian Carter, Colton Hines, Dane Romano, and Jamie Whitmarsh at the Society of Composers, Inc. 2009 Region VI Conference, Oklahoma City University Bass School of Music (Oklahoma City, OK), 26 February - 1 March 2009.

Sun, Feb 15 2009 |

Cindy McTee was awarded the Detroit Symphony Orchestra's Elaine Lebenbom Memorial Award for Female Composers, given annually to one living woman composer. As the winner, McTee will receive a $10,000 cash award and compose an original orchestral work to be performed by the Detroit Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Leonard Slatkin in June 2010.

Sun, Feb 01 2009 |

...of Strength and Compassion, a work for band by Kendall Prinz (MM 1999), was named as a finalist in the first ATSSB Composition Competition in February of 2009.

Tue, Jan 13 2009 |

Pintar and Ratnip, two pieces for woodwind quintet by doctoral composer Greg Dixon, were performed by the UNT ensemble, Madera Winds, on their Texas-Oklahoma tour (13-15 January 2009) at Southwestern Adventist University, Tulsa Community College, Oklahoma State University, Northeastern State University, and Southeastern Oklahoma State University.

Tue, Dec 02 2008 |

Two works by graduate composer Eli Fieldsteel, Statements for Wind Symphony and Fantasy for Wind Symphony, were performed 2 December 2008 by the Wesleyan Wind Ensemble, conducted by Peter Hadley.

Sun, Nov 16 2008 |

The following UNT composers were featured on the 2008 Electric LaTex Festival at Rice University in November 2008: Aaron Fryklund, Greg Dixon, Chris Williams, and Dave Gedosh.

Sun, Nov 09 2008 |

Doctoral composition students Da Jeong Choi and Paul Thomas produced Musica Donum: A 21st Century Contemporary Music Composition Concert, featuring original compositions presented at Trinity United Methodist Church (Denton, TX) on 9 November 2008. The program included performances by violinist Maria Jose Romero Ramos, pianist Chie Watanabe, saxophonist Chiaki Hanafusa, and pianist Hsing-Yin Ko.

Thu, Oct 16 2008 |

Cantus Curatio for electronics by doctoral composer Da Jeong Choi received performances at the Electronic Music Midwest Festival at Lewis University (Romeoville, IL) on 16-18 October 2008, at the 2nd Kentucky New Music Festival on 9-14 November 2008, and at 60x60 2008 Midwest Electronic Music Concert at the University of Kentucky, Lexington, on 13 November 2008.

Fri, Oct 10 2008 |

Different but One Body for percussion ensemble by doctoral composer Da Jeong Choi has received three performances by the Indiana Wesleyan Percussion Ensemble (featuring IWU faculty percussionist Marc Wooldridge as soloist) at the Christian Fellowship of Art Music Composers (CFAMC) at Indiana Wesleyan University (Marion, IN) in October 2008.