Division news

The following is a listing of recent accomplishments and activities by students, alumni, and faculty of the UNT composition program. Items are listed in reverse chronological order and may be filtered using the menus below:
Fri, Mar 19 2010 |

Mons Montis (2005) for Multi Percussion Solo and CD accompaniment by doctoral composer Da Jeong Choi was performed by Nathan Tingler at the University of Georgia on 19 March 2010. Choi's Reflection in the Glass (2008) for Vibraphone with Live Electronics was included in Theresa Sauer's entry Encounters with Contemporary Women Composers part 1, on the International Alliance for Women in Music (IAWM) blog on 19 March 2010.

Mon, Mar 15 2010 |

Undergraduate composer Ryan Pivovar's Guitar Quartet No. 1 (2009) was performed at the Brownsville Guitar Ensemble Festival (Brownsville, TX) in March 2010.

Wed, Mar 10 2010 |

Graduate composer Eli Fieldsteel's recent orchestral piece, Cordillera, was selected for performance on 10 March 2010 by the UNT Symphony Orchestra as part of the annual Concerto Competition.

Sun, Feb 28 2010 |

David Bithell will be in residency at Connecticut College for the premiere of Paraquay, part of The Liminal Surface (a collaboration with Ali Momeni), a work commissioned by the Ammerman Center for Arts and Technology for the 12th Annual Symposium on Arts and Technology (28 February - 6 March 2010).

Mon, Feb 15 2010 |

The following graduate composers were selected as winners of the Lewisville Lake Symphony "Love and Immortality" Project: Eli Fieldsteel, Benjamin Johansen, Jiri Levicek, and Jay Walls. These composers will be contenders for a commission during the 2010-11 season.

Fri, Feb 12 2010 |

Graduate composer Eli Fieldsteel has won the Bandmasters Academic Society of Japan 2009 First Annual Composition Award for School Band. His prize-winning work, Fantasy for Wind Symphony, will be performed in Tokyo on 11 February 2010 and has been recommended for publication within the year. Fantasy also was selected as a finalist in the 2nd International Frank Ticheli Competition.

Sun, Jan 17 2010 |

Made in..., a multimedia collaboration with music by doctoral composer Hsiao-Lan Wang, was featured in a dance performance titled "Das Paradies entsteht aus dem" in Landes Coburg Theater (Coburg, Germany) on 17 January 2010. The work was also included in the Electronic Arts and Music Festival, at Harold Golen Gallery (Miami, FL) on 4 December 2009, as well as on the Music BYTES video program at Lewis University on 30 October 2009.

Fri, Jan 08 2010 |

Doctoral composer Greg Dixon and TWU art professor Colby Parsons premiered their collaborative installation for kinetic sculpture, light, and sound, Luminous Oscillations, at the Myers gallery in Tulsa, OK (hosted by Living Arts of Tulsa), 8-28 January 2010.

Thu, Dec 03 2009 |

Joseph Klein was invited to the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music as the featured alumnus composer for the December 2009 program of the IU New Music Ensemble, where his work Occam's Razor was conducted by David Dzubay. During his week-long residency, Klein presented a lecture for students and faculty, taught composition master classes, and worked with the NME in rehearsals of his composition.

Tue, Dec 01 2009 |

Doctoral composer Da Jeong Choi has received the Second Prize in the 2009 Con/un/drum Solo Percussion Composition Competition for her work Explorations of a Drum (2003/2009) for snare drum solo.

Tue, Dec 01 2009 |

In 2009, Cindy McTee received about 60 performances of her music by ensembles including the Nashville Symphony, and the Symphony Orchestras of Detroit and Springfield, OH. Her music was also presented by Voices of Change in Dallas, Cutting Edge Concerts' New Music Festival 2009 in New York City, and the United States Navy Band’s International Saxophone Symposium. Also of significance was a BBC Radio 3 broadcast of her Timepiece with the BBC Symphony Orchestra.

Wed, Nov 25 2009 |

Elizabeth McNutt was a guest artist at the University of Aberdeen (Scotland) in November 2009. In addition to giving a masterclass and participating in a panel discussion, she also performed a recital on the sound festival of new music during her residency.

Sun, Nov 15 2009 |

Jon Christopher Nelson recently served as the featured guest composer at the Lipa Festival of Contemporary Music at Iowa State University (Aames, IA) where he provided lectures and presented four of his electroacoustic works in concert.

Sun, Nov 15 2009 |

Andrew May's Ripped-Up Maps was released on the CD Uncoiled Oscillations (2009), featuring double bassist Jeremy Baguyos.

Sun, Nov 15 2009 |

Works by student composers Nicholas Kanozik (Caught Tossed Triggered, 2008), Ilya Y. Rostovtsev (An Echo Precedes the Source, 2009), Patrick Peringer (Constrast, 2007), L. Scott Price (Mercurial, 2009), and Greg Dixon (Disconnect, 2009) were presented at the annual Electric La-Tex Festival at Texas A&M University (College Station, TX) in November 2009. Composition students Benjamin Johansen and Nicholas Kanozik performed at the festival.

Fri, Nov 13 2009 |

String Quartet No. 1 (2009) by doctoral composer Da Jeong Choi was premiered at THE ECHOES OF SPACE, the 18th International Review of Composers, Composers Association of Serbia, Belgrade, Serbia in November 2009. The performance was broadcast on television and radio.

Fri, Nov 06 2009 |

Works by doctoral composers Da Jeong Choi (Reflection in the Glass for vibraphone with live electronics, 2008) and Paul Thomas (Giving Sound to the Seeing for 2-channel audio, video, and Braille box, 2009) were presented at the Electronic Music Midwest Festival, Kansas City Community College, (Kansas City, KS) on 6 November 2009.