Division news

The following is a listing of recent accomplishments and activities by students, alumni, and faculty of the UNT composition program. Items are listed in reverse chronological order and may be filtered using the menus below:
Mon, Dec 06 2010 |

On Top of Wheat Silos, a work by alumnus Ryan Manchester (BM 2008) was presented by the Chicago-based group Access Contemporary Music on 6 December 2010. A review of the event may be found on the Chicago Classical Review website.

Thu, Oct 07 2010 |

Alumna composer Christina Rusnak continues to organize the sound art series titled "New Sounds for a New Space" at the Dallas Contemporary, with a program on 7 October 2010 at 7:00 pm. The program includes works by Rusnak, and faculty composers Cindy McTee and David Stout.

Wed, Sep 01 2010 |

The Canadian Electroacoustic Community, in collaboration with the Australasian Computer Music Association (ACMA) has announced the results of the 11th edition of JTTP (Jeu de Temps/Time Play). This year's winners included doctoral composer Mark Oliveiro in the Australasian section (for In Maluga) and 2010 Bourges resident artist Émilie Payeur in the Canadian section (for Triptyque). The 2010 edition of this project was open to young and/or emerging sound artists/composers from (or living in) either Canada, Australia, or New Zealand.

Fri, Jun 04 2010 |

Terry Lee (MM 2009) received a commission from the Rose V. Johnson Flute Performance Studio in Federal Way (Seattle), WA for a new work for flute choir. San Juan Suite, a five movement composition for 2 piccolos, 8 flutes, alto flute, and bass flute, was premiered in Federal Way on 4 June 2010.

Tue, Jun 01 2010 |

Works by the following UNT composers were selected for performance at the International Computer Music Conference (ICMC) in New York City and Stony Brook, NY on 1-5 June 2010: student composer Da Jeong Choi (Reflection in the Glass); emeritus faculty composer Larry Austin (Le flutes de Pan, homage a Debussy); alumna composer Elainie Lillios (Nostalgiac Visions); and past CEMI resident composer Diana Simpson-Salazar (Spindle Song).

Sat, Apr 10 2010 |

The following UNT composers participated in the SEAMUS 2010 Conference at St. Cloud State University, 8-10 April 2010: student composers Greg Dixon and Da Jeong Choi; faculty members David Bithell, Andrew May, Jon Christopher Nelson, and Elizabeth McNutt; emeritus faculty composer Larry Austin; and alumni composers Elainie Lillios and Chapman Welch.

Sun, Mar 28 2010 |

Doctoral composers Da Jeong Choi and Greg Dixon, and alumnus Chapman Welch, were invited as guest artists to New Music Focus Week 2010 at the State University of New York, Oneonta (28 March - 1 April 2010). In addition to performances of their works by percussionist Julie Licata, Choi also presented three lectures at the festival.

Thu, Aug 20 2009 |

Works by several UNT composers were selected for performance at the International Computer Music Conference (ICMC) in Montreal, Québec on 16-21 August 2009. Among those represented were student composer Greg Dixon (Water Home to Water); faculty composer Andrew May (Still Angry, performed by UNT faculty flutist Elizabeth McNutt); alumni composers Tseng Yu-Chung (FMM) and Kevin Patton (Digital Poplar Consort); and past CEMI resident composers Diana Simpson (Papyrus) and Juan Parra-Cancino (GeoAves).

Wed, Jul 01 2009 |

Cataclysm for solo violin by alumnus Ryan Manchester was selected for recording at the Cleveland Composers' Recording Institute in July 2009. The piece was recorded by violinist Rolf Schulte and engineered by Grammy-winner David Yost.

Thu, Jun 11 2009 |

Daniel R. Mitchell (MM 1984) recently authored the book BasicSynth: Creating a Music Synthesizer in Software (ISBN: 978-0-557-02212-0). The book and accompanying software explains how to create a custom music synthesizer in software using the C++ programming language. Information about the book is available on the internet at http://basicsynth.com

Wed, Jun 03 2009 |

Veiled Resonance, a work for soprano saxophone and live interactive electroacoustics by alumna Elainie Lillios (DMA 2000) won in The Trivium Category 3 of the 36th International Competition of Electroacoustic Music and Sound Art/Bourges 2009 (www.imeb.net). Among the finalists were alumni Henry Vega (MM 2004) and Dave Gedosh (DMA 2009).

Sun, Feb 01 2009 |

...of Strength and Compassion, a work for band by Kendall Prinz (MM 1999), was named as a finalist in the first ATSSB Composition Competition in February of 2009.