Division news

The following is a listing of recent accomplishments and activities by students, alumni, and faculty of the UNT composition program. Items are listed in reverse chronological order and may be filtered using the menus below:
Tue, May 15 2012 |

Alumna composer Michelle Alonso (BM 2011) has been awarded a Helene Wurlitzer Foundation Residency Fellowship for the summer of 2012. The fellowship provides three months of free housing for artists to work at the Foundation, located in Taos, New Mexico.

Thu, Mar 08 2012 |

Dream of a Thousand Keys, the dissertation composition by alumna Da Jeong Choi (PhD 2011), was premiered on 8 March 2012 by the Joven Orquesta Provincial de Málaga as part of the International Women's Day celebration in Spain. The performance was featured on Canal Sur TV.

Wed, Nov 16 2011 |

Just After The Rain, a work by faculty composer Jon Christopher Nelson, is one of nine works selected by an international jury for Sonic Screens 2011. The work will be performed at O' in Milan, Italy on 26 November 2011. One of the other selected works was Spindlesong by 2007 Bourges/CEMI resident Diana Salazar (Simpson).

Wed, Jun 01 2011 |

Alumnus composer Chaz Underriner (BA 2010) received a commission as the winner of the annual composition competition by the Santa Clarita Master Chorale for the piece A Mountain in Labor for choir, narrator and piano. The work was premiered in June 2011 at the College of the Canyons Performing Arts Center (Santa Clarita, CA).

Tue, May 31 2011 |

Improbable Edges for oboe and trombone by alumnus composer Mark Scott (BM 2008) will be performed by fellow UNT alumni Ben and Kristin Polk at the 2011 International Double Reed Society conference at Arizona State University.

Fri, May 20 2011 |

Diversions, a four movement work for tuba and piano by Kendall Prinz (MM 1999), received its world premiere on 20 May 2011 at the Southwest Regional Tuba/Euphonium Conference, which was held at Northern Arizona University. The work was premiered by Justin Lerma, tubist with the U.S. Navy Band in San Diego, CA.

Sun, May 01 2011 |

Chaz Underriner (BA 2010) has performed as a guitarist at REDCAT in Los Angeles at the Sofia Gubaidulina Festival (May 2011), at the Wild Beast concert hall at California Institute of the Arts as a soloist with the Dogstar Orchestra performing Michael Pisaro's here (1) (July 2011), and as a soloist at the Laboratorium 2011 Festival in Antwerp, Beligum performing Mark Applebaum's DNA (March 2011).

Thu, Jan 20 2011 |

Fourteen UNT-affiliated composers have been selected to participate in the SEAMUS 2011 Conference at the University of Miami, 20-22 January 2011: student composers Da Jeong Choi, Greg Dixon, Joshua Harris, Brian Hernandez, Mark Oliveiro, L. Scott Price, and Dan Tramte; alumni composers Elainie Lillios, Stephen Lucas, Ilya Rostovtsev, Kohsuke Tajima, Rodney Waschka, and Chapman Welch; and former faculty member Butch Rovan.