Division news

The following is a listing of recent accomplishments and activities by students, alumni, and faculty of the UNT composition program. Items are listed in reverse chronological order and may be filtered using the menus below:
Tue, Jan 10 2012 |

Tartarian Psalm II: Metrical Charm, a composition for bass trombone by doctoral composer Mark Oliveiro, has won first prize in category I of the British Trombone Society’s Composition Competition 2012. The work will be performed in Manchester UK in May 2012 and published by Warwick Music.

Sun, Jan 01 2012 |

Doctoral composer Mark Oliveiro's composition for Soprano and Piano, Il Garrot, was awarded an Honorable Mention Citation in the International Music Prize for Excellence in Composition 2011, sponsored by the National Academy of Music.

Sun, Jan 01 2012 |

After receiving an American Composers Forum Encore Grant (2011) to compose a new work for the new music ensemble Pictures on Silence, doctoral composer Mark Oliveiro’s composition Tanox has been made the subject of a short promotional video documentary, released early this year by the American University (Washington DC).

Thu, Jan 20 2011 |

Fourteen UNT-affiliated composers have been selected to participate in the SEAMUS 2011 Conference at the University of Miami, 20-22 January 2011: student composers Da Jeong Choi, Greg Dixon, Joshua Harris, Brian Hernandez, Mark Oliveiro, L. Scott Price, and Dan Tramte; alumni composers Elainie Lillios, Stephen Lucas, Ilya Rostovtsev, Kohsuke Tajima, Rodney Waschka, and Chapman Welch; and former faculty member Butch Rovan.

Sat, Oct 30 2010 |

Works by student composers Joshua Harris, Brian Hernandez, Mark Oliveiro, Ilya Y. Rostovtsev, Kohsuke Tajima, and Dan Tramte were showcased at the annual Electric LaTex festival in Tulane University (October 2010). Tramte's composition, Nomos Delta won the audience favorite prize for the first show.

Wed, Sep 01 2010 |

The Canadian Electroacoustic Community, in collaboration with the Australasian Computer Music Association (ACMA) has announced the results of the 11th edition of JTTP (Jeu de Temps/Time Play). This year's winners included doctoral composer Mark Oliveiro in the Australasian section (for In Maluga) and 2010 Bourges resident artist Émilie Payeur in the Canadian section (for Triptyque). The 2010 edition of this project was open to young and/or emerging sound artists/composers from (or living in) either Canada, Australia, or New Zealand.

Thu, Jul 01 2010 |

Doctoral composer Da Jeong Choi gave a presentation on "My Musical Language and Compositional Techniques" at the 12th Annual Aspen Composers' Conference, Aspen Music Festival 2010 (1 July - 22 August 2010). Cantus Curatio II (Healing Melody II) for solo violin was performed by Cheng-Yin Lin at the Aspen Composers’ Conference concert on 26 July 2010.