Composition Faculty & Staff

Faculty News

  • Joseph Klein will be the featured speaker for the Philadelphia premiere of Frank Zappa's The Yellow Shark, to be performed by Orchestra 2001 at The Fillmore Philly in March 2018.  This event is supported by a grant from The Pew Center for Arts & Heritage, and will also include programs featuring music by Edgard Varèse, Igor Stravinsky, Anton Webern, and Pierre Boulez.

  • Eight UNT-affiliated composers were selected to participate in the SEAMUS 2017 Conference at St. Cloud State University in St. Cloud, MN, 20-22 April 2017: faculty composers Andrew May and Jon Nelson; student composers Miguel Espinel, Timothy Harenda and Michael Smith; and alumni composers Elainie Lillios, Jon Anderson, and Eli Fieldsteel. Also performing at the conference is faculty flutist Elizabeth McNutt.

  • Graduate composers Michael Smith, Jacob Thiede, Bihe Wen, and Jinghong Zhang will have works presented and performed at the National Student Electronic Music Event (NSEME 2017), 10-11 March 2017 at Louisiana State University in Baton Rouge, LA.

  • Faculty Composer Andrew May’s composition Abstraction with Reference has been selected for performance on 10 March 2017 in the Open Space Festival of New Music at the University of Northern Colorado (Greeley, CO).

  • Faculty composer Joseph Klein has been named as one of two 2016-17 Faculty Fellows from the UNT Institute for the Advancement of the Arts. Klein will use his fellowship in the spring of 2017 to complete his large-scale modular chamber work, An Unaware Cosmos, to be premiered at UNT in January 2018.

  • Andrew May's Ada for electric violin and computer was one of nine works (out of 114 submissions) selected for the 2016 SEAMUS Interactions CD.

  • Jon Christopher Nelson has had two works selected for programming at the International Computer Music Conference in Utrecht, Netherlands, on 12-15 September 2016: Illusory Lines for 8-channel fixed media and Inside a Cloud of Butterflies for classical guitar and interactive electronics. The international jury selected 116 compositions for performance from approximately 600 submissions. Nelson's Inside a Cloud of Butterflies is also one of 11 works selected for inclusion on the conference recording featuring the highest ranking compositions.

  • Composition/flute faculty member Elizabeth McNutt recently performed contemporary compositions at the National Flute Association Convention in San Diego, CA on 11-14 August 2016. She performed solo and ensemble pieces on the John Fonville Tribute concert, performed short commissioned works for flute and piano, and performed in an "all-star" flute choir for a Katherine Hoover surprise event.

  • Faculty composer Panayotis Kokoras will present the keynote lecture and a concert of his works at the National Student Electronic Music Event (N_SEME) on 25-26 March 2016 at the University of Oklahoma in Norman, OK.

  • Elizabeth McNutt performed four works, including two by UNT faculty, at the International Computer Music Conference, hosted by UNT. She recently received a grant from the Earle Brown Music Foundation, in support of her series Sounds Modern, for upcoming performances in Dallas and Fort Worth (2016 and 2017). Her recent collaborations include premieres by Andrew May and local composer Sungji Hong.

  • David Stout has co-founded a working group at the Santa Fe Institute (SFI) with ecologist and complexity scientist, Dr. Jennifer Dunn. The Ecological Data Dramatization Art & Science working group will focus on the dramatization of ecological data sets integrating sonification, visualization and immersive staging. The project commences in March 2016 and will bring together the Santa Fe Institute and the Institute of American Indian Arts (IAIA) with the University of North Texas and the University of Denver. PhD composition student Stephen Lucas will be joining for the first session in the IAIA immersive dome.

  • Seven UNT-affiliated composers were selected to participate in the SEAMUS 2016 Conference at Georgia Southern University in Statesboro, GA, 11-13 February 2016: faculty composer Andrew May; student composer Timothy Harenda; and alumni composers Elainie Lillios, Chapman Welch, David Gedosh, Jason Fick, and Eli Fieldsteel.